My aquascape with Dirt Substrate

Document the life cycle of your planted tank in details step by step
Forum rules
Before you start posting in this forum, will suggest you to go through the forum rules
HERE

My aquascape with Dirt Substrate

Postby KarthikC » Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:41 pm

Hi Guys,

I decided to try my hands at the dirt substrate in my planted tank. So here's what I did:

Image

Substrate: garden soil topped up with JBL Manado.
Plants: Various crypts, few bunches of tenellus, anubias petite, anubias barteri, few ferns (on the wood),
Pinnatifida (yet to show up in the background), Reinckii Mini, Ludwigia Palustris. Most plants harvested from my emersed setups. :) :)
Tank size: 36" x 15" x 15"
Lights: 72W PLL.
Filter: 1200LPH internal filter.
Co2: not yet. Planning to add it in a weeks' time.
Fertiliser dosage: yes, EI Method.
Fish: 12 pencil fish, one swordtail (desperate rehousing), few guppies.

I am planning to add more stems at the back and have ordered about 100 tenellus.

Hope you all like it.

Cheers,

Karthik
Go green!
Image
User avatar
KarthikC
Regular in KAC
Regular in KAC
 
Posts: 851
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 2:53 pm
Location: Bangalore
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter Share on Orkut Orkut

Re: My aquascape with Dirt Substrate

Postby Raj » Wed Feb 01, 2017 2:14 pm

Nice,I like it! I'd suggest to do atleast 50% water change daily till you get CO2,and dosing 1/3 EI.
Raj
Regular in KAC
Regular in KAC
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 5:40 pm
Location: Patna
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: My aquascape with Dirt Substrate

Postby SanamMarik » Wed Feb 01, 2017 7:41 pm

WOW!!!! looks stunning...thanks to guyz lke u...we will soon be catching up with the hobbyists abroad...really awesome....cant praise enough!!! :x :x ^:)^ ^:)^ ^:)^ ^:)^
Sanam Marik
Knowledge has no end and so is my love for it. :)
User avatar
SanamMarik
KAC Fanatic
KAC Fanatic
 
Posts: 2425
Images: 0
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 10:03 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 92 times

Re: My aquascape with Dirt Substrate

Postby bambi » Thu Feb 02, 2017 2:44 am

Hi... I wanted to know if I use common garden soil do I have to have a sandy substrate over the soil layer??? Wouldn't the soil produce anaerobic pockets???
3 planted setups, 2 cichlid tanks, 2 betta setups, 1 turtle tank, 1 nano marine cube.
User avatar
bambi
Regular in KAC
Regular in KAC
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 10:09 am
Location: kolkata
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: My aquascape with Dirt Substrate

Postby KarthikC » Thu Feb 02, 2017 5:05 am

Raj wrote:Nice,I like it! I'd suggest to do atleast 50% water change daily till you get CO2,and dosing 1/3 EI.


I did the 20% water change daily thing when I just got the tank ready. Now I am sticking to weekly 50% water change. So far, so good. :)



SanamMarik wrote:WOW!!!! looks stunning...thanks to guyz lke u...we will soon be catching up with the hobbyists abroad...really awesome....cant praise enough!!! :x :x ^:)^ ^:)^ ^:)^ ^:)^


Come on Bro.. It isn't that good.. :) :) looks very basic, just for experimentation sake.


bambi wrote:Hi... I wanted to know if I use common garden soil do I have to have a sandy substrate over the soil layer??? Wouldn't the soil produce anaerobic pockets???


It used to crop up in the initial stage. But then, after the daily 20% water change regime, I got rid of it.

Cheers,

Karthik
Go green!
Image
User avatar
KarthikC
Regular in KAC
Regular in KAC
 
Posts: 851
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 2:53 pm
Location: Bangalore
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: My aquascape with Dirt Substrate

Postby bappa » Thu Feb 02, 2017 5:38 am

Asm..:) like it
Thanks
BAPPA....

Math. The only place where people buy 60 watermelons and no one wonders why....:)
User avatar
bappa
Regular in KAC
Regular in KAC
 
Posts: 541
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2015 8:56 am
Location: Kolkata
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: My aquascape with Dirt Substrate

Postby KarthikC » Thu Feb 02, 2017 9:21 am

bappa wrote:Asm..:) like it


Thank you.
Go green!
Image
User avatar
KarthikC
Regular in KAC
Regular in KAC
 
Posts: 851
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 2:53 pm
Location: Bangalore
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: My aquascape with Dirt Substrate

Postby bambi » Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:05 am

bambi wrote:Hi... I wanted to know if I use common garden soil do I have to have a sandy substrate over the soil layer??? Wouldn't the soil produce anaerobic pockets???


It used to crop up in the initial stage. But then, after the daily 20% water change regime, I got rid of it.

Cheers,

Karthik

Thanks... Would want to try it...
3 planted setups, 2 cichlid tanks, 2 betta setups, 1 turtle tank, 1 nano marine cube.
User avatar
bambi
Regular in KAC
Regular in KAC
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2017 10:09 am
Location: kolkata
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: My aquascape with Dirt Substrate

Postby Dipankar » Wed Feb 08, 2017 12:48 pm

Excellent Karthick its really turns good if you continue it for sometime. :x
User avatar
Dipankar
Die Hard KAC Fan
Die Hard KAC Fan
 
Posts: 1508
Images: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 5:17 pm
Location: Nawa City Rajasthan
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: My aquascape with Dirt Substrate

Postby ambooz » Sat Feb 18, 2017 7:04 pm

Any particular reason for choosing manado ? I tried it once but due to the light weight , when ever i had to change something it used to disturb the complete look. Even when i do a gravel vacum it used to float all over.

Sent from my Lenovo A7020a48 using Tapatalk
User avatar
ambooz
New KAC Member
New KAC Member
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 7:45 pm
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Next

Return to Journals

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron