new hobbyist

If you are a beginner, post your questions, concerns here.
Forum rules
Before you start posting in this forum, will suggest you to go through the forum rules
HERE

new hobbyist

Postby jiko » Sun May 24, 2015 11:46 am

hi everybody, i am new in this fish keeping hobby. i will get my 1st tank(30"x18"x18" , 40 gl with black cover and will go for a black background also) very soon. I will keep my tank barebottom as i heard it's easy to maintain. I like to have some active, colourful freshwater schooling fish and some centre piece fish. Which fish can I keep? is it possible to keep angelfish in my tank? also want to know about black water. Is it difficult than clear water? and what fish i can keep in black water tank.

thanks in advance... :)
jiko
New KAC Member
New KAC Member

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter Share on Orkut Orkut

Re: new hobbyist

Postby suvrajit » Mon May 25, 2015 7:32 am

@jiko, welcome to the aquatic world,

Your tank can house angelfish, but maximum 4-6, considering their adult sizes,
black water is normal water only but with added tannins, It can de made by taking normal or RO water and mixed with azoo/tetra black water additives, or by boiling Indian Alomond leaves and by passing the resulting dark brown liquid through a strainer and cooing the liquid, and adding it to aquarium water to get light brown water,
remember to keep the liquid in refrigerator,
for black water tank, use normal construction sand(after thorough washing)as substrate, keep some branchy drift woods, and add a warm white CFL 18 W, Keep scalare angels and cardinal tetras , the aquarium will be a black water type one with serene looks,
This is my choice off course, you can try something else also according your tastes and prferences
Suvrajit
Fishaholic
suvrajit
Regular in KAC
Regular in KAC

Postby Dipankar » Mon May 25, 2015 11:43 am