Aquarium Controller

Time to build something new
Forum rules
Before you start posting in this forum, will suggest you to go through the forum rules
HERE

Re: Aquarium Controller

Postby soumyaghosh » Sun Oct 18, 2015 2:27 pm

Yes....actually the problem with esp8266 is the voltage.....arduino is 5.0v (rx n tx) hence thats need to be shifted down to 3.3 v exactly....using ftdi will help to communicate with esp8266 at 3.3v from arduino...
Regards,
Soumya Ghosh :)

Marine tank :- 48" x 30" x 20"
Contact :- +91 9674843016
User avatar
soumyaghosh
New KAC Member
New KAC Member
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:33 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter Share on Orkut Orkut

Re: Aquarium Controller

Postby xarg0n » Tue Oct 20, 2015 4:51 am

This is why I use Due board. Default output volts is 3.3, what I suppose is while purchasing any shields you need to chk its compatibility with the controller. Esp8266 is best suited with due. Due use arm 32bit processor which runs at 3.3 volts. Else you can simpli use a resistor in series to drop the voltage down to 3.3v
Thanks & Regards..

Sourav...

"If you want to do something in a better way, do it yourself !" --Nepoleon Bonaparte
User avatar
xarg0n
Dedicated KAC Member
Dedicated KAC Member
 
Posts: 1488
Images: 130
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 3:38 am
Location: IN-KOL
Has thanked: 171 times
Been thanked: 43 times

Re: Aquarium Controller

Postby Jimut » Tue Oct 20, 2015 6:00 am

kumar wrote:
Jimut wrote:ESP8266 needs a very stable power source to work, I used it with a LM317 regulated at 3.3V with a 12V 1A power adapter, it worked fine. USB's are generally limited to 500mA or less which creates a lot of problem during it's boot up and more during transmission.

Also, always make sure you have a large (>10uF) and a small (0.1uF) cap nearby it's power pin, to ensure there are no jitter or ripple, which may also create problem.

Thanks a lot for sharing your experience, are you able to run ESP as a wifi shield for Arduino?

and, I think it is more with using a proper level shifter. Thats what my trial suggests, because when I used the Rx pin of ESP on a lower voltage it was able to drive the arduino pin better, and as arduino is fine taking 3.3V inputs, so it helped the cause.

But you are right, on a fine day when its run as stand alone you ll need a good supply. BTW, its not advised to drop voltage from such high levels!! (12V-3.3V, i.e. like 500mA x 6.7V thats quite a lot of heat!!) a 6V should suffice.
Thanks a :-bd gain.


Yes, I was able to run it with Arduino. Yes, a proper level shifter is required, I used the transistor level shifter, resistor divider ones doesn't work on that frequency quite well.

Yeah, that's quite a lot of heat, but as the datasheet says LM317 requires a minimum input output differential voltage of 3V, there was no choice, I tried with 5V and failed. It would be much better to use LM1117.

You are welcome :) .
User avatar
Jimut
New KAC Member
New KAC Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2015 2:33 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Aquarium Controller

Postby kumar » Tue Oct 20, 2015 6:54 am

xarg0n wrote:This is why I use Due board. Default output volts is 3.3, what I suppose is while purchasing any shields you need to chk its compatibility with the controller. Esp8266 is best suited with due. Due use arm 32bit processor which runs at 3.3 volts. Else you can simpli use a resistor in series to drop the voltage down to 3.3v

are you currently running/serving pages with your ESP8266 and arduino?

Concern is that using resistor with serial communication, it is not working. Just waiting for my level shifters.
i luv fish + u luv fis=we luv wish

rahul wrote:It should not be like today planted ,tomorrow cichlid,day after tomorrow blackwater, next community, then marine ,then business and end up dying useless. Whatever you do do it well
kumar
Regular in KAC
Regular in KAC
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 8:52 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Aquarium Controller

Postby mithun » Sun Oct 25, 2015 4:55 pm

i am on a little more elaborate project with couple of arduino and raspberry pi with edimax adapter and ESP8266 ESP12. dual display of 5" touchscreen TFT and 16x4. Will start a new thread soon
Mithun
M:8583865385
Napoleon Bonaparte wrote:If you want something done in a better way, do it yourself.

My 220Gal reef journal | My 150Gal reef journal
User avatar
mithun
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 2664
Images: 0
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 11:03 pm
Location: Bangalore.. :(
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 35 times

Re: Aquarium Controller

Postby mithun » Mon Oct 26, 2015 11:06 am

For level shifting problems, this should help you out.. been using these for quite some time

http://www.adafruit.com/datasheets/sn74lvc245a.pdf
Mithun
M:8583865385
Napoleon Bonaparte wrote:If you want something done in a better way, do it yourself.

My 220Gal reef journal | My 150Gal reef journal
User avatar
mithun
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 2664
Images: 0
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 11:03 pm
Location: Bangalore.. :(
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 35 times

Re: Aquarium Controller

Postby kumar » Tue Oct 27, 2015 8:14 am

woooho! look who has turned up \m/

This thread is gonna be fun now :ar! :ar!
i luv fish + u luv fis=we luv wish

rahul wrote:It should not be like today planted ,tomorrow cichlid,day after tomorrow blackwater, next community, then marine ,then business and end up dying useless. Whatever you do do it well
kumar
Regular in KAC
Regular in KAC
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 8:52 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Aquarium Controller

Postby soumyaghosh » Wed Oct 28, 2015 6:49 pm

Right kumar......Finally we got Mithun contributing to this.
Good news is, I was finally able to solve the puzzle of esp8266.
Now it works like a charm with my 5.0v arduino.
To summarize, the Arduino works fine with Auto Top off, LCD unit, RTC DS3231(Real Time Clock), ESP8266 (Wifi), Feeding Time set with Auto Fish Feeder. All these works now....
Next step I would buy some dosing pumps to automate it with arduino, then will get some probs which will trigger those dosing pumps....its getting more interesting....just love this hobby.....its way beyond a big aquarium, fishes, salt water, corals, LEDs, controller, DIY....
Regards,
Soumya Ghosh :)

Marine tank :- 48" x 30" x 20"
Contact :- +91 9674843016
User avatar
soumyaghosh
New KAC Member
New KAC Member
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:33 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Aquarium Controller

Postby soumyaghosh » Wed Oct 28, 2015 10:20 pm

[img]
img_20151028_014425-resized-960.jpg
img_20151028_014535-resized-960.jpg
img_20151028_014606-resized-960.jpg
[/img]
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Regards,
Soumya Ghosh :)

Marine tank :- 48" x 30" x 20"
Contact :- +91 9674843016
User avatar
soumyaghosh
New KAC Member
New KAC Member
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:33 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Aquarium Controller

Postby mithun » Tue Nov 10, 2015 10:34 pm

good project man.. i would tidy things up by soldering on vero/proto boards.. too much wiring looks messy on final product
Mithun
M:8583865385
Napoleon Bonaparte wrote:If you want something done in a better way, do it yourself.

My 220Gal reef journal | My 150Gal reef journal
User avatar
mithun
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 2664
Images: 0
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 11:03 pm
Location: Bangalore.. :(
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 35 times

PreviousNext

Return to DIY Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron