Aquarium Controller

Time to build something new
Forum rules
Before you start posting in this forum, will suggest you to go through the forum rules
HERE

Re: Aquarium Controller

Postby SanamMarik » Mon Sep 28, 2015 5:56 pm

that is for ease of coding it. with multi threading, you can easily switch btwn the threads while not ending the procedure. its convenient imo. everyy thread is given a job and one can switch from one to another by pausing the present one fr a little while. and for dependent procedures, imo multi-threading has no better alternatives.
Sanam Marik
Knowledge has no end and so is my love for it. :)
User avatar
SanamMarik
KAC Fanatic
KAC Fanatic
 
Posts: 2445
Images: 0
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 10:03 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 92 times

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter Share on Orkut Orkut

Re: Aquarium Controller

Postby soumyaghosh » Mon Sep 28, 2015 7:22 pm

Yes, agreed but things can be done to serve our purpose with single thread micro controllers.
Like the arduino. I am almost finished with the initial coding.
Will update you the detail on the functionalities at present. Later on will update it periodically.
For now the relays, RTC & float switch works fine.
Just the wifi module is not working as expected.
I will update you all with the diagram of the same.
:)
Regards,
Soumya Ghosh :)

Marine tank :- 48" x 30" x 20"
Contact :- +91 9674843016
User avatar
soumyaghosh
New KAC Member
New KAC Member
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:33 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Aquarium Controller

Postby soumyaghosh » Mon Oct 05, 2015 7:29 pm

img_20151005_003252-resized-1024.jpg
img_20151005_003318-resized-1024.jpg
img_20151005_003311-resized-1024.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Regards,
Soumya Ghosh :)

Marine tank :- 48" x 30" x 20"
Contact :- +91 9674843016
User avatar
soumyaghosh
New KAC Member
New KAC Member
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:33 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Aquarium Controller

Postby soumyaghosh » Mon Oct 05, 2015 7:31 pm

My Auto Top off system connected to float switches and controlled by my Arduino

img_20151005_003338-resized-1024.jpg
img_20151005_003349-resized-1024.jpg
img_20151005_003558-resized-1024.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Regards,
Soumya Ghosh :)

Marine tank :- 48" x 30" x 20"
Contact :- +91 9674843016
User avatar
soumyaghosh
New KAC Member
New KAC Member
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:33 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Aquarium Controller

Postby soumyaghosh » Mon Oct 05, 2015 7:38 pm

Still having some bugs in the code...specially due to the DS1302 RTC module....need to buy DS3231 for more accuracy...also the cheap ESP8266 wifi module sucks....will buy a good wifi shield....
The time keeps on jumping sometimes ahead.....also it stops sometimes.....a bug in the chip itself.
For now the following works fine
1. ATO system
2. Automatic shutdown of devices during a pre defined feeding time.
3. Refugium light for my chateo starts/stops perfectly
4. Skimmer starts after a 5 min delay...always
Regards,
Soumya Ghosh :)

Marine tank :- 48" x 30" x 20"
Contact :- +91 9674843016
User avatar
soumyaghosh
New KAC Member
New KAC Member
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:33 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Aquarium Controller

Postby kumar » Wed Oct 14, 2015 12:15 pm

Where are you stuck with ESP8266?
Did you flash newest firmware?
i luv fish + u luv fis=we luv wish

rahul wrote:It should not be like today planted ,tomorrow cichlid,day after tomorrow blackwater, next community, then marine ,then business and end up dying useless. Whatever you do do it well
kumar
Regular in KAC
Regular in KAC
 
Posts: 789
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 8:52 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Aquarium Controller

Postby soumyaghosh » Wed Oct 14, 2015 6:04 pm

Nope....i dont have the ftdi convertor...ordered them....will get back to it after that....
Regards,
Soumya Ghosh :)

Marine tank :- 48" x 30" x 20"
Contact :- +91 9674843016
User avatar
soumyaghosh
New KAC Member
New KAC Member
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:33 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Aquarium Controller

Postby kumar » Wed Oct 14, 2015 6:19 pm

Dint you try using Ur Arduinos onboard ftdi?
i luv fish + u luv fis=we luv wish

rahul wrote:It should not be like today planted ,tomorrow cichlid,day after tomorrow blackwater, next community, then marine ,then business and end up dying useless. Whatever you do do it well
kumar
Regular in KAC
Regular in KAC
 
Posts: 789
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 8:52 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Aquarium Controller

Postby soumyaghosh » Wed Oct 14, 2015 9:53 pm

Nope.....i am not sure how to use that.....if u can help me please....i am just puzzled with how to use that...i already tried a lot of ways but none worked....
It would be really helpful if u can send me some details of how to connect the esp8266 to arduino mega and update the firmware...also which firmware to use....n then how to connect it for normal operations and a sketch to make it connect to my wifi hotspot at home.
Thanks in advance.
Regards,
Soumya Ghosh :)

Marine tank :- 48" x 30" x 20"
Contact :- +91 9674843016
User avatar
soumyaghosh
New KAC Member
New KAC Member
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:33 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Aquarium Controller

Postby kumar » Thu Oct 15, 2015 6:32 am

well, I think I am on a similar boat thats why I ask. But atleast I can sense my ESP8266 under list of wifi connections- so does this part work for you? Do all the connections, and reset the module(or just remove vcc and put back), you should see 'ESP8266' on your mobile under wifi.
You can follow the 'preparation' part of this link https://ukhas.net/wiki/esp8266_firmware_update
atleast you must see the words 'ready' and its current firmware version number. Use 9600 baud, and reset pin wired to ground of arduino.


From what I keep reading and the way people are getting success, it all boils down to two things.
(a) 3.3V external supply
(b) A different computer, which I believe has more current capabilities, perhaps plug into a stronger laptop when its charging etc, am not sure.

use this one http://www.hobbyist.co.nz/?q=esp8266-firmware-update
or once we get the ftdi, http://blog.randypatterson.com/esp8266- ... d-options/

Let me do my struggles this weekend, perhaps I will try external supply, and you too can update your chores.
i luv fish + u luv fis=we luv wish

rahul wrote:It should not be like today planted ,tomorrow cichlid,day after tomorrow blackwater, next community, then marine ,then business and end up dying useless. Whatever you do do it well
kumar
Regular in KAC
Regular in KAC
 
Posts: 789
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 8:52 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 28 times

PreviousNext

Return to DIY Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests