Back to Kolkata

Be a responsible reefer
Forum rules
Before you start posting in this forum, will suggest you to go through the forum rules
HERE

Back to Kolkata

Postby MRB » Thu Nov 05, 2015 6:43 am

Hey Salty Folks,

Finally after 9 years I am coming back to Kolkata with a transfer that I have been fighting for since the past 3 years ;)

While I was on an official trip last month to kolkata, I checked out a few shops that sell marine like fancy aquarium in cit road, needless to say the stock sucks and the price off the roof.

Need your help in establishing contacts with people who do not rip off. I used to think Bangalore was expensive but here is what I pay for common ones here in Bangalore,

YTB damsels - (P similaris) Rs 120 - you can find my reply to Deep123's post here viewtopic.php?f=20&t=4175
Jewel wrrasse - Rs 250
Thalasoma lunare - rs 350
Juvi Koran - Pomacanthus semicirculatus - Rs1600 and adult Rs1100.
Emperror angel (P Imperator) adult and juvi Rs3800
Ampherion Sebae - Rs120
Amphirion Clarki - Rs 600
Acanthurus Mata - Rs 250

but when I enquired about them in Kolkata the prices were 3 times than that of Bangalore.

Red Sea per Kg in Kolkata is 450 but I buy it for Rs750 for a 4 kg bag in Bangalore and it's not the repacked kolathur stuff.

Much to my dismay I am now feeling that moving back to Kolkata may be a wrong decision as far as my hobbby is concerned, being in it for the last 17 years (salt Water Aquariums), I will not let go of it, hell no.
Request forum members like Mithun Da, Krishnendu Da and others to help me with contacts of non cheating marine aquarium dealers in calcutta.

While I prepare for my final packing for the household goods by the transporter, below are a list of items that I have bought owing to the fact that I will have to restart and reseed again...

Red Sea 25 kg bucket
new membranes for Ro/DI
Spare lamps 6 nos for UV sterilizer
NLS marine formula - 4 nos
additional Master test kit for marine
additional ac dc pump