Page 1 of 2

My aquascape with Dirt Substrate

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:41 pm
by KarthikC
Hi Guys,

I decided to try my hands at the dirt substrate in my planted tank. So here's what I did:

Image

Substrate: garden soil topped up with JBL Manado.
Plants: Various crypts, few bunches of tenellus, anubias petite, anubias barteri, few ferns (on the wood),
Pinnatifida (yet to show up in the background), Reinckii Mini, Ludwigia Palustris. Most plants harvested from my emersed setups. :) :)
Tank size: 36" x 15" x 15"
Lights: 72W PLL.
Filter: 1200LPH internal filter.
Co2: not yet. Planning to add it in a weeks' time.
Fertiliser dosage: yes, EI Method.
Fish: 12 pencil fish, one swordtail (desperate rehousing), few guppies.

I am planning to add more stems at the back and have ordered about 100 tenellus.

Hope you all like it.

Cheers,

Karthik

Re: My aquascape with Dirt Substrate

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 2:14 pm
by Raj
Nice,I like it! I'd suggest to do atleast 50% water change daily till you get CO2,and dosing 1/3 EI.

Re: My aquascape with Dirt Substrate

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 7:41 pm
by SanamMarik
WOW!!!! looks stunning...thanks to guyz lke u...we will soon be catching up with the hobbyists abroad...really awesome....cant praise enough!!! :x :x ^:)^ ^:)^ ^:)^ ^:)^

Re: My aquascape with Dirt Substrate

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 2:44 am
by bambi
Hi... I wanted to know if I use common garden soil do I have to have a sandy substrate over the soil layer??? Wouldn't the soil produce anaerobic pockets???

Re: My aquascape with Dirt Substrate

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 5:05 am
by KarthikC
Raj wrote:Nice,I like it! I'd suggest to do atleast 50% water change daily till you get CO2,and dosing 1/3 EI.


I did the 20% water change daily thing when I just got the tank ready. Now I am sticking to weekly 50% water change. So far, so good. :)



SanamMarik wrote:WOW!!!! looks stunning...thanks to guyz lke u...we will soon be catching up with the hobbyists abroad...really awesome....cant praise enough!!! :x :x ^:)^ ^:)^ ^:)^ ^:)^


Come on Bro.. It isn't that good.. :) :) looks very basic, just for experimentation sake.


bambi wrote:Hi... I wanted to know if I use common garden soil do I have to have a sandy substrate over the soil layer??? Wouldn't the soil produce anaerobic pockets???


It used to crop up in the initial stage. But then, after the daily 20% water change regime, I got rid of it.

Cheers,

Karthik

Re: My aquascape with Dirt Substrate

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 5:38 am
by bappa
Asm..:) like it

Re: My aquascape with Dirt Substrate

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 9:21 am
by KarthikC
bappa wrote:Asm..:) like it


Thank you.

Re: My aquascape with Dirt Substrate

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:05 am
by bambi
bambi wrote:Hi... I wanted to know if I use common garden soil do I have to have a sandy substrate over the soil layer??? Wouldn't the soil produce anaerobic pockets???


It used to crop up in the initial stage. But then, after the daily 20% water change regime, I got rid of it.

Cheers,

Karthik

Thanks... Would want to try it...

Re: My aquascape with Dirt Substrate

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 12:48 pm
by Dipankar
Excellent Karthick its really turns good if you continue it for sometime. :x

Re: My aquascape with Dirt Substrate

PostPosted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 7:04 pm
by ambooz
Any particular reason for choosing manado ? I tried it once but due to the light weight , when ever i had to change something it used to disturb the complete look. Even when i do a gravel vacum it used to float all over.

Sent from my Lenovo A7020a48 using Tapatalk